Healing – 10 weeks after

Well here we are – I am 10 weeks into my surgical recovery from endometriosis excision and removal of my ovaries. The recovery has been slower than I’d hoped or expected, but I’m getting there. I continue to have pain and “swelly belly” 😦 I continue to have fatigue. It’s hard to be patient, but I am improving. My fibromyalgia is about where it was before surgery. The fatigue and sore belly are still really holding me back from seeing how good I might be able to feel.

The surgical menopause and adjustments to hormone replacement therapy actually seems to be going pretty well now. I’ve been having fewer and fewer headaches, fewer and fewer migraines. The headaches are shorter in duration and less severe than what I was experiencing as hormonal migraines for years before the surgery. I’m not having the scary side effects of all this I feared.

Somehow my skin, hair, and nails are much improved! I think it’s either from the hormone changes or from the changes I’ve made to my nutrition, including lots of juices. Maybe it’s a combination of those factors. Maybe there’s some other change in my body after the surgery. Whatever the case, my hair, skin, and nails are better than they have been in as long as I can remember. It’s kind of stunning to me.

Emotionally, I am still broken-hearted about my infertility. I’m having some intense grief, but that seems like the right and natural response for me. I’m just accepting that and trying to let the grieving and healing happen as it’s going to happen. Blogging has been a big help in this.

I’m trying to give myself as much TLC as possible, give myself more rest, lower my expectations for myself, and anything that seems healing and nurturing to me.

Among the best changes I’ve made and steps taken for healing… juicing! I got a juicer about a month ago (Breville BJE200XL Compact Juice Fountain 700-Watt Juice Extractor) after being inspired by the documentary Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead. I am not replacing meals with juice, but I am supplementing with juice and I absolutely love it.

We got two books: The Reboot with Joe Juice Diet: Lose Weight, Get Healthy and Feel Amazing by Joe Close (who made the film) and The Big Book of Juices: More Than 400 Natural Blends for Health and Vitality Every Day by Natalie Savona. They are both fantastic and have helped me as an absolute beginner. It really is simple and easy with just a few pointers and a few recipes. The Big Book of Juices book has a bazillion recipes and I’ve found some that are so great. After working from recipes, it has been easy to throw juice together with whatever I have in the house/garden.

Tonight’s juice was carrot/apple/ginger/lime – so good! The juice below was all green – apples, lime, melon, celery, kale, and mint.

img_20160912_191306

Copyright Snowdroplets 2016

3 responses to “Healing – 10 weeks after

Leave a Reply

