Preparing for surgery…

Tomorrow is the big day – I will be traveling a short distance to a nearby city where there’s a great hospital and an excellent gynecological surgeon (he also did my 1st lap in 2012). I’ll check in at the hospital first thing in the morning and then have laparoscopic excision of endometriosis and bilateral oophorectomy (removal of both ovaries) and salpingectomy (removal of fallopian tubes). The uterus stays. It should be a same-day surgery and I’ll be home tomorrow night.

I’m feeling very nervous and emotional, but also looking forward to finally getting this over with!

Ceiling_detail_of_St_Bernard's_Well.

Here’s what I’ve been doing to get ready:Coloring: I have been coloring for hours upon hours. Usually, I will have a movie or music on. I have fun books and gel pens and find that it’s so calming. One of my favorites is Coloring the Psalms.

Music: Music makes such a difference to my state of mind. It helps me stay calm and positive. I listen to some beautiful celtic harp music. My favorite right now is Paul Baker’s Celtic Harp: The Quiet Path (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=igWazIRoF6E). It’s so beautiful! I also love reggae. Most recently, I have been loving Hawaiian reggae like J Boog, Common Kings, Kohole Kai, Anuhea, etc.

Walking: I have been doing a lot of walking. Walking and walking, one step after another, fresh air… Usually I’m walking with my hubby and dogs. Clears my mind and resets a bad attitude.

Water: Even before getting scheduled for surgery, I’ve been trying to do better about hydration. I was inspired by another blogger (Fit Muslim Girl) to try out a hydration app on my phone. It really helped me. I didn’t realize how little water I was drinking! And I hope that being better hydrated will be me with tomorrow’s surgery.

Hot Baths: Always make me feel better and more relaxed.

Yoga: Likewise, always makes me feel better and more relaxed.

Pre-surgery Self-Hypnosis: This was a recommendation from a friend and I think it’s helpful. I’ve been listening to Preparing for Surgery by Martin Rossman on Audible. I relax and imagine one of my most favorite beach memories ever.

Focusing on What’s Most Important: My health and the people I love.

Getting the House Ready: My husband and I washed the sheets and towels, did the rest of the laundry, vacuumed, swept, mopped, cleaned the bathroom, washed the dishes, stocked up on groceries (including lots of chicken soup), stocked up on paper products (incl. Kleenex) and drugs (misc. laxatives), watered the plants, etc.

Xanax: Obviously, by prescription, to help with my anxiety the last couple nights before surgery so I can sleep.

Chapstick: I started wearing more chapstick over the weekend since it’s so common to have chapped lips after anesthesia. I thought I didn’t need to start out with pre-chapped lips…

Psalms and Prayer: I have found a lot of comfort reading psalms and in sharing my heart with God through prayer, lifting my pains and fears, asking for help, releasing my sorrow. I also think of the Saints Anna and Joachim, the parents of Mary the Mother of Jesus. They longed for children into their old age and were finally blessed with Mary.

rencontre

Above: Saints Joachim and Anna embracing

Asking for Help: We have some friends providing some meals and some friends helping with the dogs. Our puppy especially needs lots of trips outside and lots of walks. We’ve got this lined up and a lot of help coming from my parents.

Out of Town Trip with my Honey: We took a short overnight trip to a lovely lake near here with our dogs. We stayed in a hotel rather than our usual camping since it was easier and I’m all about easier right now. This was the best decision! Getting out of town together was such a nice way to get our minds off of the anxiety and relax doing what we love in the beautiful outdoors. We had a nice dinner together and a wonderful couple of days.

Packing an Overnight: Even though it’s a same-day surgery, I’m packing an overnight bag in case I need to stay. In 2012, I stayed overnight after my laparoscopy. I found some great recommendations online about what to pack so I’ll get on that here pretty soon.

This whole experience has been by far the most difficult of my life. I hope that this surgery will be successful and that I will feel better after this. I’m scared as shit, but hoping for the best.

Thank you all for your support! I will be posting an update as soon as I’m able.

13 responses to “Preparing for surgery…

  1. I remember how stressed, anxious, and outright scared I was before surgery last year. To distract myself from that I also put together a to-do-list that deliberately mixed in fun activities with friends and family. It helped a lot 🙂
    I hope all goes well for you tomorrow. I am sending you positive energy to keep you strong and unafraid, and to help your body bring you through all of this safely and healthier.

    Like

  2. Good luck today Snowdroplets! I hope it’s going well. Your relaxation plan actually sounds lovely. My music for relaxing is the album by Morelenbaum 2/Sakamoto, called “Casa”. I feel my brain relax when I put it on, I’m always telling other people about it. I hope you’ve slept OK. Enjoy a nice bowl of that chicken soup tonight if you can x

    Like

Leave a Reply

