One week from now…

One week from now I’ll be having my surgery! I’m feeling really nervous and my emotions are all over the place. I’m having laparoscopic excision of my endo and removal of my ovaries. Bilateral oophorectomy!

I’ve had one previous surgery, in 2012, that was similar except I kept my ovaries at that time. I felt more optimistic then. I feel like I was doing what was necessary to make my dreams of pregnancy and motherhood a reality. Now I believe I’m doing what is necessary, but this time there’s the grief of closing a door with no ability to have my own biological child. But that door, realistically, is already closed. Might as well get the treatment I need and remove these darn ovaries that are intent on continually building giant awful cysts. They have to go. I will take hormone replacement therapy and see how that goes. I’m choosing to be optimistic and hopeful that I’ll feel a lot better once this is done. No more periods!

Still, I feel sad. I feel afraid. I feel stressed. I have so much to get done at work before my leave. So much I want to do at home before I’m laid up. I need to just take it easy. I have been crying a lot, mostly at night or in the morning. I actually feel better after a good cry so it’s good to let it out. I’m trying to eat well, sleep well, drink plenty of water, take lots of walks, spend time with the people I love most, etc.

And then it will be over with and I can concentrate on healing and preparing for what’s next! Hopefully, children!!

If you’re prayer inclined, please pray for me! If not, maybe just send some good vibes my way!

One week from now I’ll be recovering, hopefully at home!

Erste_SchneeglöckchenSnowdrops

13 responses to “One week from now…

  1. Sending prayers! I too am having endo surgery next week! Had excision a few years ago, now having some troublesome adhesions to be taken care of. 💛

    Like

  2. I will be thinking of you and sending prayers! It sounds like you are doing a lot of important self care (which I have heard can actually enhance your healing) and I soooo hear you about the crying being a source of relief.
    I don’t know if this helps…I too had endo. I had a hysterectomy in 2009. I am feeling so much better now. It was a very angst-ridden decision for me too, and I am still glad I did it as I felt like I got a huge chunk of my life back.
    BTW, I am so excited to find your blog (I found it via Different Shores), as I too suffer from PTSD.

    Like

  3. Sending all good vibes and prayers your way! May the Lord bless you and keep you….And give you peace. The self care thing is so important, I agree, brilliant job. I was told to drink lots of water the day before my surgery and I was so glad I did, less of a headache etc afterwards. And the healthy food is sure to help the healing process. Xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

