Finally some good news!

The last couple of years have been very hard. They’ve definitely had their good times, for sure, and I am very fortunate in the big scheme of things. That said, my husband and I have been faced with some huge challenges and losses and the last year has been the hardest of my life. In many ways, it has seemed like Murphy’s Law – whatever can go wrong, will. We’ve had bad luck after bad luck, bad news following bad news, and so much of it just out of our control. I have felt many times just tossed in the waves trying to keep my head above water.

And then – suddenly, some good news. Big good news.

Number 1. WE GOT A PUPPY! I shared my health and infertility struggles with my friends in a post on Facebook. One friend saw a puppy for adoption with cute paws, and sent the photo to me to help cheer me up. I took one look at this puppy and fell in love. She is SO CUTE! And she is just the kind of pup we’ve been wanting to find. A nice mutt that actually looks similar to my beloved, best friend, old dog. My hubby saw the photo and said – “We have to get her” and so we applied and got approved and brought her home a week ago!! She’s 4 months old and has had a lot to learn. It’s been a little challenging, but so fun.  It’s been the best thing.

My dearest, best friend, old dog has been failing. He’s very old and has really gone downhill in the last 6 months. It has just been breaking my heart. On top of everything else, I just haven’t been able to stand the thought of losing my sweet buddy. I still can’t stand it, and no one will ever replace him, but it is helping to have this goofy little puppy around. He likes her (most of the time) and seems a little perkier, and he’s helping us train her in the ways of the world. I just love it.

One thing I really like about it is that I have to take a lunch break now and come home to let the puppy out. She can’t hold it all day. AND I have to walk much more often and longer to help her get the wiggles out. I’m getting many more steps in every day and getting a much needed break at work.

Number 2. We received some good news financially that will greatly help with my medical bills and some of our debt. It has helped me shift from feeling hopeless about our financial situation, and worried about how we’d pay for fertility/surrogacy/adoption to a little more HOPEFUL!

Number 3. My hubby got a promotion at work!! It is a great opportunity for him and he’s very excited about it. We knew it might be a possibility, and it’s been a lot of nerves and pressure while we hoped and waited to find out if it would come through. It will really make a difference for us.

This is the most good news we have in a long, long time!

Just in time too. I’m on the countdown until my endometriosis surgery date – 12 more days. I’m feeling sad and nervous, but it’s for the best and I will feel better after (oh, I hope!).  All the stress has been really affecting my sleep and my eating. I can’t fall asleep at night and then have trouble getting up in the a.m. and then I just don’t feel like eating. My schedule is all off. My fibro has been acting up due to the stress, but I have been trying to do something nice for myself every day if I can and that helps.

Thank you for your support. I’m starting to feel a little bit optimistic after all.

Asamkirche_(8418263651)

Image: Sun, Wikimedia Commons, public domain

Text Copyright Snowdroplets 2016

 

11 responses to “Finally some good news!

  1. I’m so happy things are looking up. Plus a countdown to your surgery is huge, and scary but will be so beneficial for you. Wishing you the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

